Myrtle Beach, South Carolina License Suspension
Revocation of Driving Privileges Upon Arrest
If you refuse to give a test of the breath (Datamaster) or don’t refuse and register a blood-alcohol level of fifteen one hundredths of one percent will have their license revoked, effective on the date of the incident.
Within 30 days and for a one hundred dollar fee, a suspect may obtain a “temporary alcohol license” by filing with the DMV. The suspect may receive privileges to drive without restriction pending the results of a contested case hearing.
The suspect may, within 30 days, request a contested case hearing before the Office of Motor Vehicle Hearings. The scope of the hearing is limited to whether the person was lawfully arrested and detained, whether the suspect was properly (both written and oral) informed of his rights, whether the suspect refused or consented to a test of the breath, and if he did consent whether the test was properly conducted by a qualified individual and yielded results equal to or greater than two one hundredths of one percent, and whether the machine was properly functioning.
If the suspension is upheld at the contested case hearing, the suspect will be given credit towards his permanent suspension for the number of days his license was suspended pending the temporary alcohol license and contested case hearing.
After successful completion of the class, the suspect may obtain a limited driving privilege for the purposes of traveling to and from work, to and from school, or to and from the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program.
If the suspect’s breathalyzer (Datamaster) results are equal to or greater than ten one hundredths of one percent, the suspect must enroll in an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program.
If you are convicted of driving while impaired (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) for a first offense you can expect your license to be revoked for a period of not less than 12 months.
The results explained above are defined in South Carolina’s Code of Laws. These are not waivable punishments when a judge finds a suspect guilty of the offense of driving while impaired (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI). In order to avoid having your license revoked for the prescribed period, you must be found innocent. The Everett Law Firm will work tirelessly to insure that your defense is the best possible defense that the criminal defense attorneys of Everett Law Firm can construct.
A DUI conviction can have serious and long-lasting consequences. If you are facing a drunk driving charge, it is important that you contact an experienced DUI attorney to protect your rights. Contact South Carolina DUI lawyers at Everett Law Firm, P.A. at 800-942-8048 for a free consultation if you have been arrested or charged with any type of drunk driving offense.