Consequences of a Conviction
If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, you are subject to pay a fine of $400.00 or imprisonment for at least 48 hours. However, a person convicted of first-offense DUI could possibly serve up to 30 days in jail. However, instead of being imprisoned for the minimum of 48 hours, judges have the discretion to impose sentences of 48 hours of public service. In order to retain your license after a DUI conviction, a person must obtain SR-22 insurance for a period of 3 years.
For a conviction of second offense DUI, in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, a person can be fined a minimum of $2,000.00 up to $5,000.00 and imprisoned for at least 5 days or up to 1 year. The fine cannot be suspended to an amount no less than $1,000. Again, a judge could possibly order a person convicted of second-offense DUI to at least 30 days of public service instead of serving time in jail.
A conviction of third offense DUI in South Carolina carries a fine of at least $3,800.00 and could be as much as $6,300.00. In addition to the fine, a person will also be imprisoned for at least 60 days up to a maximum of 3 years. If a person is convicted of a fourth-offense or more, then the offender will be sentenced to prison for a minimum of one year and could have to serve up to 5 years. This is considered to be a felony DUI in South Carolina.
Penalties for Felony DUI in South Carolina
If a person is convicted of a felony DUI in South Carolina for causing great bodily harm to another, he or she is subject to a mandatory fine of at least $5000.00. However, a fine up to $10,000.00 could be imposed. In addition to the fine, there is a mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days in jail, and that sentence could be increased up to 15 years. A person convicted of felony DUI when that person has caused the death of another is subject to a mandatory fine of between $10,000.00 and $25,000.000. Additionally, that person must be imprisoned for at least 1 year and could be sentenced to 25 years in prison.
A Myrtle Beach DUI conviction can have serious and long-lasting consequences. If you are facing a drunk driving charge, it is important that you contact an experienced DUI attorney to protect your rights. Contact Myrtle Beach South Carolina DUI lawyers at Everett Law Firm at (800) 942-8048 for a free consultation if you have been arrested or charged with any type of drunk driving offense.